May 3, 2010

  • Mi viejo – My old man

    In 1969, an Italian/Argentine singer named Piero released a song called Mi viejo, about his father. My sisters immediately bought the record and learned the song, and have been singing it ever since whenever the family gets together. It became my dad’s favorite song. He told us he wanted it sung at his funeral, so we did.

    Here are the lyrics in Spanish, followed by a translation You can hear the original song on youtube here. 

    Es un buen tipo mi viejo
    Que anda solo y esperando
    Tiene la tristeza larga
    De tanto venir andando

    Yo lo miro desde lejos
    Pero somos tan distintos
    Es que creció con el siglo
    Con tranvía y vino tinto

    Viejo, mi querido viejo
    Ahora ya caminas lento
    Como perdonando el viento
    Yo soy tu sangre, mi viejo
    Soy tu silencio y tu tiempo

    El tiene los ojos buenos
    Y una figura pesada
    La edad se le vino encima
    Sin carnaval, ni comparsa

    Yo tengo los años nuevos
    Y el hombre los años viejos
    El dolor lo lleva dentro
    Y tiene historia sin tiempo

    Viejo, mi querido viejo
    Ahora ya caminas lento
    Como perdonando el viento
    Yo soy tu sangre, mi viejo
    Soy tu silencio y tu tiempo

    Yo soy tu sangre, mi viejo

    Soy tu silencio y tu tiempo

    My old man is a good guy
    He walks alone, waiting

    He has a long sadness
    From so much walking

    I look at him from a distance

    But we’re so different
    He grew up with the century
    With streetcars and red wine

    Old man, my dear old man
    You walk slowly now
    As if forgiving the wind
    I’m your blood, old man

    I’m your silence and your time

    He has sharp eyes
    And a heavy build

    Old age came upon him suddenly
    Without a carnival or celebration

    My years are new years
    The man’s years are old
    He carries his pain inside him
    And he has history without time

    Old man, my dear old man
    You walk slowly now
    As if forgiving the wind
    I’m your blood, old man

    I’m your silence and your time

    I’m your blood, old man

    I’m your silence and your time

Comments (8)

  • what wonderful lyrics …

  • Translating it was a moving experience, even though it doesn’t describe my own dad. I guess it’s the strong emotional significance it has always had for my family. Thanks for the rec.

  • I love these wonderful lyrics, too, Tim.

    Old age came upon him suddenly
    Without a carnival or celebration

    My years are new years
    The man’s years are old
    He carries his pain inside him
    I’m your blood . . . your silence.

    Did you sing it in English or Spanish? Did you sing harmony? It makes me tear just to think of it . . . although I am most certain that your father was smiling.

    I’d love to hear it and am just the tiniest bit tired of Sting ((laughing)) – as if that’s possible…HINT-HINT.

    S

  • @Harpos_Mark - I tried to find an audio version, but it’s not as easy at it used to be, and I don’t know how to embed a video here (and my employer blocks youtube). I’ll see what I can do. And I’ll retire Sting. He’s done his duty.  / We sang in Spanish. Some of my sisters harmonized.

  • @Roadkill_Spatula - I had hoped you did (smiles)…and that would be wonderful!

    alas, poor Sting…

    :o )

  • @Harpos_Mark - In the old days it was as easy to find audio files online as videos, but now, not so, and I don’t have any way to upload songs myself. Too bad for Sting. May he rest in peace.

  • Hi

    I propose a different translation, a bit removed from the exact word-by-word translation but closer to the meaning of the song.
    i listened to the song and picked up a couple of differences, replaced lento with lerdo.
    here it is 

    Es un buen tipo mi viejo  [my old man is a good guy]

    Que anda solo y esperando [who lives alone and is waiting]

    Tiene la tristeza larga [he's got a lingering sadness]

    De tanto venir andando [from all that he has been through]

    Yo lo miro desde lejos [i watch him from the distance]

    Pero somos tan distintos [but we are so different]

    Es que creció con el siglo [it's that he grew up with the century]

    Con tranvía y vino tinto [with streetcars and red wine]

    Viejo, mi querido viejo [old man, my dear old man]

    Ahora ya caminA LERDO [now, at last he walks slowly]

    Como perdonando el viento [as if forgiving the wind]

    Yo soy tu sangre, mi viejo [i am your blood my old man]

    Soy tu silencio y tu tiempo [i am your silence and your time]

    El tiene los ojos buenos [he has kind eyes]

    Y una figura pesada [and a worn down presence]

    La edad se le vino encima [old age has snuck up on him]

    Sin carnaval, ni comparsa [without as much as a warning]

    Yo tengo los años nuevos [My years are new]

    Y el hombre los años viejos [and the man's are old]

    El dolor lo lleva dentro [he carries his pain inside]

    Y tiene historia sin tiempo [and has a timeless history ]

    Viejo, mi querido viejo [old man, my dear old man]

    Ahora ya caminA LERDO [now at last he walks slowly]

    Como perdonando el viento [as if forgiving the wind]

    Yo soy tu sangre, mi viejo [i am your blood, my old man]

    Soy tu silencio y tu tiempo [i am your silence and your time]

    Yo soy tu sangre, mi viejo [i am your blood, my old man]

    Soy tu silencio y tu tiempo [i am your silence and your time]

    john

  • @jonlralston - Yeah, I translated it too literally and missed some of the meaning in the process. I think you’ve got it just about right.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *