December 15, 2011

  • It’s Alicia’s birthday! ¡Hoy cumple Alicia!

    The woman I love. La mujer que yo amo.

    I’m wearing this shirt today. She gave it to me. Hoy llevo esta camisa, que ella me regaló: 

    Here’s one of my favorites of her songs, Migas de Silencio (Crumbs of Silence). One of the most interesting things about it is that the song is about her! The songwriter had a crush on her, even though he was 30 years older, and it took him a long time to realize she was never going to reciprocate his affection. So this was one of the last songs he wrote for her, back when her music career was flourishing. It’s weird to think that a torch song she sang, written about her, is now part of the folk music repertoire in Colombia and has been performed by many other artists since then.
    Esta es una de mis favoritas entre sus canciones: Migas de Silencio. Un dato muy interesante es que la letra hace referencia a ella. El escritor estaba enamorado de ella, a pesar de ser mayor por unos 30 años, pero por fin se dió cuenta que ella no le iba a amar. Así que ésta es una de las últimas canciones que le escribió. Qué curioso pensar que una canción triste de la que ella es el tema, y que ella grabó, ahora forma parte del repertorio de música colombiana y ha sido grabada por muchos otros artistas.

    I thought I had posted the lyrics, but I can’t find them. Here they are again, translated:

    I’m tired of loving alone

    And have decided it’s time to say goodbye

    To your two hands that are always at your side

    Or awaiting a warmth that isn’t mine

     

    You’re also tired of seeing how I look at you

    How I suffer awaiting your crumbs of silence

    Everything has its moment, and now it’s time to say goodbye

    Time to say I’m leaving, but I still love you

     

    I’ll always be the path for your steps

    Wherever you need me along the way

    In spite of the goodbye, I’m still here

    But we’re no longer the two of us

    We’re just people randomly wandering this world

Comments (35)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *