May 10, 2013

  • Coffee pods

    When I first saw a pod coffeemaker, I thought, “Ridiculous!” Expensive machine, expensive coffee, wasteful (I can make 12 cups in a regular coffeemaker with two pods’ worth of coffee). Besides, Salim made a pot or two of coffee every morning for the office.

    But now I’m at a different office. There’s a regular coffeemaker, but no one who uses it regularly, and I don’t want to deal with buying coffee, setting it up, and cleaning it afterwards. There’s a pod machine. For a while, there was a box of pods beside it, along with a jar for collecting money. I used it a number of times, but felt guilty whether I paid or not: “Is coffee really worth that much money? But someone is paying for it!”

    Then the box of pods ran out. It hasn’t been replaced for weeks. I see used pods around the machine, so I figure people must keep their own stashes.

    At Ross the other day, I ran into a package of these babies and thought, “Aha! Problem solved!” I immediately bought them.

    Now I can make just what I’m going to drink. I don’t have to make it as strong as the other pods; half a basket is fine. It’s not the best way to brew coffee, but it’s drinkable and simple to manage.

    The package came with four baskets. If you need one and can come by for it, you’re welcome to it.

    Hope you have an awesome weekend. Tonight we’ll be at Cali Viejo to sing with Alicia’s sister. Tomorrow we’re going to Pembroke Pines for cousin Raul Rosero’s daughter’s graduation. I’m sure there will be plenty more music down there.

Comments (20)

  • That’s the only kind of coffee I drink anymore.  Welcome to the club.

  • I’d never even heard of the things before now. Wow. I’m out of touch! But now I’ve read up on them and won’t appear to be quite so out of touch if the topic ever comes up in conversation, even though I’m going to stick with my trusty Mr. Coffee when I’m not doing cold brew.

  • You know my only kind of coffee is the espresso way - Italian way of course.

    Yes, good coffee is worth the money. I prefer a small cup to liters of american….whatever they call it.

  • That is an excellent idea and have a wonderful week end.

  • It’s not a problem for those of us who don’t drink coffee.  I have an old-fashioned coffee maker, but can no longer remember the proportions I used to make coffee for the family as I grew up — lol !

  • @slmret - You can also make tea with this thing, if you don’t mind it being brewed for only 20 seconds.

  • @carlo - I like espresso but to make it is too much hassle. 

  • @Roadkill_Spatula - hahaha — that might even work for me — I pour the water over a teabag, and take the bag out of the cup almost right away!

  • My name is Sarah,
    i saw your profile today
    and became interested in you,
    i will also like to know you more,
    and i want you to send an email to
    my id (sarahzamba237@yahoo.com)
    so i can give you my pictures,
    for you to know whom i am.
    yours Sarah.

  • I bought a Mr Coffee pod machine made by Keurug and bought one of those filter thingies for our travel trailer.  And wouldn’t you know, the first morning I realized I remembered the coffee, all the mixings for the coffee, but forgot the filter.  Fortunately, it came with 5 sample pods, so all was not lost.

  • The only thing I use my coffee pot for is brewing tea.  It’s old; used to belong to my grandpa before he died seventeen years ago.  But it still works and serves its purpose.

  • I have a tea strainer spoon that I put the grounds in and make my coffee when I want a cup. I bought the spoon for a dollar or so

  • yeah, for the times I drink coffee out of starbucks – this is definitely the way to go. it just saves time 

  • What would Juan Valdez make of that?

  • The only way to make real coffee is to have a small grinder and grind the coffee beans fresh every time you make coffee.  Then again some folks store their coffee beans in a sealed closed container and the coffee beans grinder has to be dusted out.

    I microwave my hot water for tea because most coffee makers use aluminum coils to heat the water. Contact with aluminum is not good.

    I need to go out to collect more herbs for my teas. You can tie the herbs on a string to  dry them.

  • I don’t understand the love for coffee.  I never drink it. BUT, I love the aroma of brewing coffee.

    SO, are you going to respond to lovesarah24? I remember you had played along with one like that a couple of years back. Kept me laughing all day long. Have a great weekend. Love to Alicia.

  • Coffee–another world!

    Have a wonderful Colombian weekend, yay!

  • I am a tea drinker. But, this looks like a cool way to go for coffee drinkers!
    I wish you and Alicia a happy, fun, music and love filled weekend!!!
    HUGS!!!

  • Mmm, love the smell of coffee but cannot drink it, or tea either. I do like hot chocolate, but I wouldn’t get a machine for that!

    I have been wondering how those pods worked. I should send a set to my SIL.

  • we got a pod machine a couple years ago, the coffee always tasted like plastic……I’ll stick with Mr. Coffee too, although I would like to try some Italian coffee now, just to see what Carlo is talking about.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *