September 11, 2013

  • Mystery song

    <p>A friend in Colombia heard this song on the radio some years ago and was entranced. He recorded it on cassette and gave me a copy, which I recorded onto my computer and have uploaded.

    We would really like to know who this singer is, and the name of the song. I have searched using phrases from the lyrics to no avail. My guess is that it is from the 1950s or 1960s and that the singer is someone like Doris Day. The composer might be someone who wrote musicals. Those are uneducated guesses; I’m not a musicologist.

    If you find out, please let me know.

    The lyrics are more or less as follows:

    [Unintelligible line]
    The dreams I shape, they call to me
    There’s no escape, I’m never free
    I run and run and when I’m through I run to you.
    [Unintelligible] rains that never ends
    The summer rains they never end
    The sound of larks it never ends
    [Unintelligible] parks that never end
    Time can’t erase, cannot dispel, that smiling face I knew so well
    It was always there as you can guess to bring despair and loneliness
    All those I tried to kiss all knew that I’d kissed you
    When love was mine the earth was new
    and there were things to see and do
    When love was mine the skies were too
    You’d run to me and I to you
    Now it’s small comfort to recall that it is better dear by far
    to once have loved than never to have loved at all
    When love was mine the earth was new
    and there were things to see and do
    When love was mine the sky was too
    You’d run to me and I to you
    Now it’s small comfort to recall that it is better dear by far
    to once have loved than never to have loved at all
    </p>

Comments (19)

  • I don’t know either Tim, Dinah Shore comes to mind also, she was always singing with someone. I’ve got a board meeting to get ready for this morning but I’ll come back later cause I love a good mystery song =)

    • Dinah Shore was the second one I checked, but the voice didn’t sound right. Doris Day is a closer voice match, but this song doesn’t show up anywhere in the discography I checked. It’s not Judy Garland, either.

  • I have not found , Tim .
    The words of this song are simple but say so much . And the voice is good .Indeed it is not recent.
    In friendship
    Michel

  • If you notice that names in comments are no longer clickable (andit is your case, Tim) do this: Top right, of your screen, chose Edit Profile. Scroll through and look for the space next to Website. Add in your xanga address (eg. http://myname.xanga.com) and this make it so that your name becomes a clickable link like mine below .
    Please do it , it is more easier to find you quickly
    In friendship
    Michel

    • I’ve done it, and my name is still not always clickable with the link.

  • I thought Judy Garland as soon as I heard it.

    • That was my first guess, too. Similar lilt on the high notes.

  • it’s from a musical era i missed; the driver on the ;little bus’ hated music (and probably many more things) and so we only heard about the ‘Red Chinese, Bulganin, who died that day in the electric chair, on the radio.’I clicked on the song and was only allowed to hear the first 20 seconds for some reason. I do hope someone from U-toob will ID it for you. It does have an angsty charm.
    odd, the other day I had a melody going through my head; couldn’t think for the life of me what the song was. And it took 3 days of searching my dimming memory to realize that *I’d* written it, duh
    “I’ve got to be good to my ZIF-girls/
    Zif-girls mean everything to me/
    And if I’m real super-good to my zif girls/
    They’re bound to be super-kool to me”

    (ZIF is a computer hardware acronym for chip sockets where there is no need to use force to insert the pins. hence ‘Zero-Insertion-Force.
    I doubt anyone would have gotten the joke, especially after 40 years.

    • I wouldn’t have gotten it without the For Dummies manual. Woulda figured it as Yiddish or PA Dutch. Interesting that you had one of your own melodies stuck in your head.

  • I just love your happy profile picture what great smiles

    • Thank you. We’re happy people.

  • Try Julie London…

    • Very similar voice, but I can’t find anything similar in the 151 songs of hers I could find online.

  • Don’t have a clue Tim. I wish I could help.

  • I did some searching last night. I still can’t figure it out. :-(
    HUGS!!!

  • Tim:
    Top right, of your screen where your cute lil avatar is, chose Edit Profile. Scroll through and look for the space next to “Website”. In that space add in your xanga address (http://roadkill-spatula.xanga.com)and this make it so that your name becomes a clickable link.

    It seems to be working for everyone who tries it.
    HUGS!!! :-)

  • sorry, I tried. I cannot seem to find the song’s artist you are looking for.

  • At places, it sounded like Barbra Streisand to me. None of the ones mentioned in the comments so far (especially not Julie London; it’s for sure not Julie London) sound to me as if they could be right.

  • When you click on my name, do you see an entry where overlaying type makes it impossible to read?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *