May 30, 2014

  • Highly technical product review: Bud Light Lime-a-Rita

    I discovered these in 12-packs last year in the beer section at Walmart, and now they’re selling them loose near the door. They are actually quite good. They taste like real lime because they’re naturally flavored. The alcohol is malt rather than tequila, but the drink still tastes like a margarita to me. They have 8% alcohol in an 8-oz can, roughly equivalent to the 4-5% alcohol in a 12-oz beer.

    The Straw-ber-Rita and Cran-brrr-Rita are tolerable but unremarkable. They taste somewhat like the fruit juice they’re supposed to contain.

    The Mang-o-Rita, however, appears to be made with toxic waste from a chemical factory. It’s artificially flavored and has nothing in common with mango except a vaguely yellow color. In addition, it is artificially sweetened, unlike the others. I took one sip. Well, two, actually, because I couldn’t believe anything could be as bad as that first sip tasted. Then I poured it down the drain. I’m going to write the Budweiser people and complain. Who are their taste-testers?

    I haven’t tried the Raz-ber-Rita, and I probably never will.

Comments (8)

  • Good grief ~ what next!?

  • Ick! Even the Lime-a-Rita doesn’t sound good to me. At least they didn’t waste any mangoes in the production of that beverage! Mangoes should be eaten with reverence and savored…

  • Now that I don’t drink they have all kinds of stuff but I never drank for the flavor anyway.

  • If I was back in college, after reading this, I might’ve challenged myself to try the mango flavor, just to see for myself. I think it’s great that you compared it to toxic waste. Hehe. That is about how I feel about beer, I can’t stand the stuff. Now the other fruity favors, perhaps, since I do like wine coolers, but since it has malt in it, which is what is in beer, I think I may hate it. It’d be like those frou frou coffee drinks masked with caramel, and whipped crime and other sweet distractions. When all is said and done, it’s still coffee and still has that bitter after taste.

    • I can’t taste the malt as such. If you like margaritas, Aldi has a 750ml bottle for $5 that is pretty good. Higher alcohol content. I didn’t pay attention to what type of alcohol.

  • I thought beer wss made with fermented malt and I learn something with your post .
    In friendship
    Michel

  • I read your comment at Ruth’s on WordPress and you say about you, you are a xangan refugiee.
    Please, Tim, tell me where I can join you
    In friendhip
    Michel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *